Time to Pack

So I have been rubbish at posting in the lead up to my trip. Life has been so busy these last few weeks. However I am back and ready to post my adventures and travels. 

This weekend I have begun the task of packing for my trip to Australia. It’s mind boggling how hard it is to get everything I think I will need for 4 months of travelling. 

As I am planning to travel up the East Coast, I’m trying to keep my suitcase as light as possible but for me, someone who likes to have her creature comforts with her, that is going to be a challenge! 


So my plan was to pull out everything that I ‘wanted’ to take with me and then dramatically reduce that pile to what I actually ‘need’ to take with me. I won’t be the sort of person who will be taking 2 t-shirts, 2 pairs of shorts, 5 pairs of undies and a hoodie, but I don’t want to be hauling a massively heavy suit case around while trying to enjoy the goings-on around me.

A few years ago I found ‘packing cubes’ and they have made life so much easier trying to pack things into a suitcase. I have 2 that I bought off Amazon and they are one of the best purchases I have made for travelling.


Using the packing cubes I place all my clothes (after I have dramatically reduced the pile) into one of the first cube and then into the second cube I put my swimsuits, underwear, PJs and work-out gear (and yes, I do hope to work out while I’m travelling!) The other nice thing about using packing cubes is everything is neat and tidy in the suitcase rather than having to pull all your clothes out to find that one t-shirt you want to wear. You simply pull out the cube with your t-shirts in and hey you’re ready to go!


The other thing I use all the time when I go out are pouches. I love pouches so much so, that I have begun to collect them! So everything has a pouch: laundry, first aid, toiletries etc. First of all to stop items rolling about in my case (this is usually when I loose them), and then also it helps keep things that I use together. So things like all my chargers are together, my hair bits-and-bobs. You get the idea? It makes it easier to just grab what I need when I need it. I have a great selection of small draw-string fabric bags, but any kind of bag would work!


So here we are all packed and ready to go I am now just counting down the days until I fly.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

