GREECE ⩒ Away with the Famalam

I loved being home after my amazing trip to Australia.  It was great to catch up with friends and get back into work.  Strangely I had missed it.  The only people that I don’t feel that I got to catch up with are the people I see every day. My family.

img_2520.jpg

So, our annual holiday was the perfect time to spend time and catch up with the people I love.  A time to switch off from the world and be with the people you’re closest too.  In a digital world, I find that sometimes I can forget to speak to the people in the real world.

IMG_5139

We chose Greece as our spot and the beautiful island of Meganisi.  For the first time in a while we went with a “package” meaning this meant that our flights, transfer and villa were all included in our booking. It was such a luxury getting off the plane knowing that we didn’t have to look at picking up a rental car, driving to the port and try to figure out a ferry transfer over to the island!

Instead, we were met at the airport by the friendly staff of the travel company, Ionian & Aegean Island Holidays.  Taken  by coach along the coastal route from Prevasa Airport onto the Island of Lefkas to a small slipway where we boarded a simple Greek boat and made the 30 minute journey across the sea to our final stop, the island of Meganisi.

IMG_2689

On entering the long, deep harbour of Vathy, we were greeted by rising hills with villas dotted along like carefully positioned jewels and yachts, so many yachts.  Ranging  from tiny rowing boats to vast and luxurious sailing yachts with all the bells and whistles.

In my next few posts I’ll tell you more about what we got up to on this beautiful little island.

Leave a comment